top of page

[Project] Organic Lip Balm


As most of my friends know, there's 2 things that I take very seriously in life; organisation and a DIY project.


Recently I have been on the glass jar and spray bottle hype, decanting and labelling anything and everything to please my soul. Since I have had extra time recently, I decided to try make the change to natural skincare. After reading about the different benefits of different essential oils, and with the help of other blogs, I began sourcing ingredients for a tailor-made routine which would naturally benefit my skin.


Other reasons behind my choice were: to lower packaging consumption and Co2 footprint, stop animal testing, it's more cost effective, and to reduce my exposure to harmful chemicals.


Ingredients

  • 2 tbsp Beeswax

  • 2 tbsp Shea Butter

  • 2 tbsp Coconut Oil

  • 10 drops of Peppermint essential oil

  • 15 drops of Lavender

  • 7 small aluminium tins (15ml)

1. Measure out the shea butter, coconut oil and beeswax and add to a double boiler.

2. Once melted, add the essential oils.

3. Pour quickly into the tins, this should be enough to fill 7 x 15ml containers. They take approximately 30 mins to set into a semi solid consistency.


bottom of page